About Me


A Christian, homeschooled, PDA slinging, iBook modding, techno-savvy former Missionary Church PK's third attempt at a weblog. Here I go...
View my complete profile


Recent Entries

+ Well, I'll be stuck here for awhile
+ My Mother made me do it
+ Graveyard
+ Well, I'm Back
+ Uhhh...


My HSB Links
+ Home
+ Archives
+ My Blog's RSS
+ Login
Jul. 3, 2008
Ooh, that was way too close for comfort...

Posted in Technology/Computers

Since my last several posts were regarding Apple laptops, why don't I add another one?  I have had a slightly disturbing experience over the last several days, and it involved a certain MacBook.

It happened like this:  The other day, I was looking on CraigsList.com, and I found what seemed to be a pretty good deal on a Black MacBook.  Knowing that I wanted a new Mac, and seeing that the price was desirable, I took a look at it.  According to the listing, it was a top of the line BlackBook that was in good condition, for only $380 bucks!  Of course, I sent an email to the address provided, and this is what I got back:


Hello, The laptop is still available and I hope you are still interested. My name is Amy and I am now in Manchester, U.K. This machine has been used for professional needs over the past 11 Months, it is in great condition and runs perfectly, and beyond evidence of normal use the laptop is in perfect shape. The warranty is good until August 2009 and it is fully transferable. One more thing, it works on US voltage so you do not need a converter. I have attached some pics with the laptop to this e-mail so you can see the condition of the laptop. Please get back to me and let me know if you like the laptop if you're really interested in buying it. Thanks, Amy

I emailed back and forth with "Amy" for a few days, and determined that, even though it would be shipped from the UK, the price was still way too low to resist.

We got to where she sent me a link to a page that was supposedly from DHL, and she said that it was the most secure way to do it.  You can see the page here.

About that time, my buddy Caleb sent me an email linking to this page.  It detailed a scam that said it was selling a Black MacBook in various locations around IN, and that the seller claimed to have moved to the UK.  That's when I grew suspicious.  I ran a whois check on the 'freightpost-dhl.com' domain, and found that it was not owned by MarkMonitor, which runs DHL's web page.  It is owned by "Daniel Parker" of Beverly Hills, CA, according to the server.  So, I notified DHL, and asked them about it.  They haven't gotten back, but it doesn't matter.

I checked the other pages out, and discovered that tons of people had fallen for the same trick.  Fortunately, I hadn't sent any money to "Amy."  I told my mom and dad, then sent a note to "Amy," letting her know that the deal was off and that people don't like being scammed. 

Whew, that was too close.  Good thing I have friends like Caleb who notice obscure scam notification pages.




Send to a Friend!

Comments

Jul. 3, 2008 - Untitled Comment

Posted by PaulsBlogging.com


Whoa Dude! That is scary!
Way too close.

Good job, Caleb.
;)


Permanent Link


Jul. 3, 2008 - Untitled Comment

Posted by Caleb in AK


Two good things to remember about Craigslist:
If it's too good to be true, it probably is.
Always meet the person when you buy the item. No security in shipping.


Permanent Link


Jul. 6, 2008 - wow!

Posted by SuperAngel


That is really freaking. Good thing you have a great friend! That would have been really bad for you. I know that you aren't in my area, but I checked out craiglist.com and in fortwayne, I saw a couple Macbooks. If you take a look and find one you want, I don't think it would be a problem to get it for you. just an idea. :D

well haven't seen you around TDP lately, so I thought I would stop by.

Laters,
Amanda
http://superangelsblog.com


Permanent Link


Jul. 7, 2008 - Untitled Comment

Posted by OutLoud


Hi, cool blog (Every says that I know but just saying "hi" would be..... I don't know.. against the blog-code? The code that states that you not only may you say hello, but you also must compliment the person? Sorry, I ramble).

Quick reference to your last post:

I know this website that makes a magazine,
and any way they posted a hack that allows you to put a phone on the ipod touch.

Check it out:
www.hackszine.com/blog/archive/ipod/

~Outloud


Permanent Link


Jul. 7, 2008 - Untitled Comment

Posted by OutLoud


M&M's?
What M&M's thing?

~Jacque the (Momentarily) Confused


Permanent Link


Jul. 7, 2008 - Untitled Comment

Posted by OutLoud


Oh.
Sorry about that.
Enjoy your M&M's.
There's nothing you can do about them now, anyway.

~Jacque (The slightly embarrassed of having forgotten her own post)


Permanent Link


Jul. 8, 2008 - Untitled Comment

Posted by Backyard


Hi there! I wanted to let you know that the Tuesday Bible Trivia is up as well as the Monday articles on the Backyard! Thanks for participating!

Hope to see you in the Backyard soon!

Blessings!


Permanent Link


Jul. 10, 2008 - Untitled Comment

Posted by grelb32


This is Amy. I know where you live. I know where you sleep. I am watching you. Moowah hah hah hah hah!

You can never trace me, you can never fine me.

~Nick

(http://www.homeschooblogger.com/grelb32


Permanent Link


Jul. 11, 2008 - HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Posted by SuperAngel


I hope you have a great birthday! Maybe you will get that iBook... even if you don't I know you will have a great day!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JAKE!

laters,
Amanda
http://superangelsblog.com


Permanent Link


Entry 6 of 49

Last Page | Next Page